Harry Potter update

So, as you all know if you’ve been keeping up with my blog, I have just started to read the Harry Potter series. I am now currently on The Prisoner of Azkaban. It is such a great book series, and I’m already quite the fan. I watch each movie after I finish the book, and they are so great. I know I’m eons behind everyone else, but it’s just so cool being taken to another world with those books! I really do love them! It is hard to keep reading through them quickly though, because I am also reading another book (The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton), so I keep going back and forth between the two. It is also hard because the language is so drastically different. Wharton is harder to read when coming back from reading the Harry Potter books (my old English teacher told me the other day that it’s written to be harder to read so that you have to pay attention), and then when I go back to Harry Potter I can go for hours because the text is so easy to read. Though it is easy to read, there are so many more literary goodies that go beyond the text. I do believe that Harry Potter will be around for a long time. I wasn’t allowed to read it when I was younger (for obvious reasons…if it’s not obvious, well then not a lot of people are comfortable with the topic of witchcraft/wizardry, but then again, look at Disney movies and video games), and I regret that, but then again I don’t because I’m at a place in my life where I understand so much more and am now able to take so much more from the books from a literary point of view versus just reading a great story. I get so excited when I go pick up the book to read though. Harry has such wonderful adventures, and sometimes I wish his magic was real so I could use Expelliarmus! or Wingardium Leviosa! on some particularly irritating Muggles in real life. I also took the House sorting quiz and got sorted into Hufflepuff twice! I need to take a longer one though. I had the highest results for Hufflepuff, and then Ravenclaw was next, and then Gryffindor, and then finally Slytherin. Anyways, I need to go relax a bit before I have to leave for my class, so I will be back later! Off to Muggle school!!

-Laurel

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter update

  1. usually the more quizzes you take, you will realize you’ll be sorted into the same 2 different houses…so, i would suggest you more.. to see what your alternative house is.

Leave a Reply

