The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Swedish vs. American

I already have talked about this in the past, but perhaps not as much as I had wanted to. So, as some of you may know, there is going to be an American version of “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” released next month. Rooney Mara is set to play Lisbeth Salander, and Daniel Craig is going to play Mikael Blomkvist. I have no problem with this. What I do have a problem with is this

If the folks behind this poster really knew Lisbeth, they would know that she is a extremely private person. She wouldn’t allow herself to have her breasts on display for everyone to see. This poster changed my views about the movie completely. When Noomi Rapace was Lisbeth, she was everything I imagined her to be when I read the books. She was perfect.

I guess I will have a hard time of seeing someone else playing Lisbeth after having Noomi established as Lisbeth in my mind. Accuracy and characterization matter when going from book to movie. I know this is Hollywood we’re dealing with, so there has to be some some sexual aspect in order to sell. Though Lisbeth’s character does engage in sexual activities that may seem disturbing to some, she doesn’t flaunt her sexuality for all to see.  Like I said before, she is an extremely private person.

Now I know some may argue that this movie is going to be amazing, because David Fincher (the director of Se7en, Fight Club, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and other things) is directing it. I really don’t care who is directing it. All that matters is that the characters are true to the book and that things are accurate. I don’t want to be disappointed by the American version of this movie.

I think with the pictures that have been released for the US version show that the producers (or whoever) are trying too hard. Rooney Mara looks like a scary, eyebrow-less creature of the night, like someone who never leaves the four walls of their house except to get a new piercing or a pack of cigarettes.

And then there is the clothing line that H&M is going to release.

I read in Entertainment Weekly the other day that H&M is going to release a 30 piece collection inspired by the character of Lisbeth. I believe they are calling it the “Dragon Tattoo” collection. I feel like this is also a bit too much, because it feels like the movie is going to become this “trendy” thing, instead of just the movie it is. The reticence I feel about this is the same thing I felt when Twilight first came out, and there were t-shirts galore that displayed the different characters’ faces. It all became too much after a while, and that is one of the main reasons I dislike the whole Twilight saga. I feel that with this new clothing line, people (teenage girls) are going to go buy the clothes, watch the movie, and then get on their social networking sites and spew on how big fans they are of “Dragon” without ever having picked up the books.

Maybe I’m wrong, but that is how I feel about it. I am still going to go watch the movie to see what Fincher has to offer (I’ve seen some of his other work). Maybe I’ll be proven wrong, and I’ll have hordes of Fincher fans chasing me telling me that they “told me so”. Until then, I can only hope for the best, despite the things that have let me down thus far.

Leave a Reply

